NEW JERSEY LIEN LAW
Updated On 10/24/2018
The New Jersey Self Storage Association, together with the national Self Storage Association, has achieved several legislative successes to protect and improve the state's business environment. The NJ lien law was updated in 2013 and 2018. The updates include:
- Permits lien notices to be sent by verified mail (any method of mailing that provides evidence of mailing) in lieu of certified mail. This saves approximately $5 per lien notice.
- Allows electronic mail communication including for lien notices. Email must be sent by a method that provides a receipt of delivery.
- Permits the towing of vehicles, boats and trailers when rent is 60 or more days past due. Facility owner must send notice providing contact information of towing company within one day of towing the property. Owner shall have no liability for loss of or damage to vehicle, boat or trailer once it is towed.
- Allows online auctions
- Provides a safe harbor for late fees up to $20 or 18% of monthly rent, whichever is greater.
Aside from lien law revisions, New Jersey also allows storage facilities to obtain a limited insurance license for the sale of tenant insurance.
New Jersey Lien Law